amazon ad

More Events >

AOJ Amazon Affiliate account

AOJ Board and Committees

UPDATE 8/13/14: This list was current as of July, 2014.
Future changes will appear only on the consolidated "leaders" list at and its successor when both websites are fully renovated.


Miriam Pepper
VP/Editorial Page
The Kansas City Star
Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone: (816) 234-4421

Kate Riley
Vice President

Editorial Page Editor
The Seattle Times
Seattle, WA 98111
Phone: (206) 464-2260

Carolyn Lumsden
Editorial Page Editor
The Harford Courant
Hartford, CT 06115
Phone: (860) 241-3698

Bob Davis
Immediate Past President
2014 Convention Chair

Associate Publisher/Editor
The Anniston Star
Anniston, AL 36202
Phone: (256) 235-3540

Lois Kazakoff
Ex Officio (President - AOJ Foundation)
Deputy Editorial Page Editor
San Francisco Chronicle/
San Francisco, CA 94103
415.777.6054 (office)
415.896.1107 (fax)
Twitter: @lkazakoff

John McClelland
Masthead Editor
Roosevelt Univ., Chicago, retired
Phone: (773) 485-8508


At-large directors


Jeff Charis-Carlson
Opinion editor
Iowa City Press-Citizen
123 N. Linn St. Suite 2E
Iowa City, IA 52245
(319) 887-5435

Rosemary Goudreau
Editorial Page Editor
Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel

Dale McFeatters
Chief Editorial Writer
Scripps Howard News Bureau
Washington, D.C.

Tony Messenger
Editorial Page Editor
St. Louis Dispatch
Wildwood, MO
Phone: 314-340-8382

Larry Reisman
Editorial Page Editor
Scripss Treasure Coast Newspapers
P.O. Box 9009
Stuart, FL 34995
Phone: (772) 221-4238

Christian Trejbal
AOJ web chair 2014
Principal, Opinion in a Pinch


Chair: Richard Prince
Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
Alexandria, VA
Phone: (703) 362-8197

ue Ryon
Shorewood, WI
Work: (414)-758-0605

Chair: Jay Jochnowitz
Editorial Page Editor
Albany Times Union
Albany, NY
Phone: (518)454-5472

Christian Trejbal
Principal, Opinion in a Pinch


Other committees
Other committees, including the executive committee (president, vice president, treasurer, secretary and immediate past president), nominating committee, site selection committee and professional committee, are established and their makeup determined by Article IV of the NCEW-AOJ bylaws.

(updated 2014-07-01 and 2014-08-13)