amazon ad

More Events >

AOJ Board and Committees

Officers

Miriam Pepper
President
VP/Editorial Page
The Kansas City Star
Kansas City, MO 64108
mpepper@kcstar.com
Phone: (816) 234-4421

Kate Riley
Vice President

Editorial Page Editor
The Seattle Times
Seattle, WA 98111
kriley@seattletimes.com
Phone: (206) 464-2260

Carolyn Lumsden
Secretary/Treasurer
Editorial Page Editor
The Harford Courant
Hartford, CT 06115
clumsden@courant.com
Phone: (860) 241-3698

Bob Davis
Immediate Past President
2014 Convention Chair

Associate Publisher/Editor
The Anniston Star
Anniston, AL 36202
bdavis@annistonstar.com
Phone: (256) 235-3540

Lois Kazakoff
Ex Officio (President - AOJ Foundation)
Deputy Editorial Page Editor
San Francisco Chronicle/SFGate.com
San Francisco, CA 94103
lkazakoff@sfchronicle.com
415.777.6054 (office)
415.896.1107 (fax)
Twitter: @lkazakoff

John McClelland
Masthead Editor
Roosevelt Univ., Chicago, retired
(best) john.r.mcclelland@gmail.com
(backup)jmcclell@roosevelt.edu
Phone: (773) 485-8508

 

At-large directors

 

Jeff Charis-Carlson
Opinion editor
Iowa City Press-Citizen
123 N. Linn St. Suite 2E
Iowa City, IA 52245
(319) 887-5435
jcharisc@press-citizen.com

Rosemary Goudreau
Editorial Page Editor
Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel
954-356-4669
rgoudreau@sunsentinel.com

Dale McFeatters
Chief Editorial Writer
Scripps Howard News Bureau
Washington, D.C.
mcfeattersd@shns.com

Tony Messenger
Editorial Page Editor
St. Louis Dispatch
Wildwood, MO
tmessenger@post-dispatch.com
Phone: 314-340-8382

Larry Reisman
Editorial Page Editor
Scripss Treasure Coast Newspapers
P.O. Box 9009
Stuart, FL 34995
lreisman@earthlink.net
Phone: (772) 221-4238

Christian Trejbal
AOJ web chair 2014
Principal, Opinion in a Pinch
ctrejbal@gmail.com
 

Committees

DIVERSITY
Chair: Richard Prince
Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
Alexandria, VA
rprince@erols.com
Phone: (703) 362-8197

HISTORIAN
S
ue Ryon
Shorewood, WI
sryon@wi.rr.com
Work: (414)-758-0605

MEMBERSHIP 
Chair: Jay Jochnowitz
Editorial Page Editor
Albany Times Union
Albany, NY
jjochnowitz@timesunion.com
Phone: (518)454-5472

OPEN GOVERNMENT
Christian Trejbal
Principal, Opinion in a Pinch
ctrejbal@gmail.com

 

Other committees
Other committees, including the executive committee (president, vice president, treasurer, secretary and immediate past president), nominating committee, site selection committee and professional committee, are established and their makeup determined by Article IV of the NCEW-AOJ bylaws.

(updated 2014-17-01-2:40 p.m. cdt)